A Room of One’s Own

April 27, 2010

One of the things that preoccupied me most before taking the jump to self-employment was whether I would work from home or find an office somewhere. Initially I was adamant that I had to find an office space since I couldn’t imagine not having contact with other human beings on a daily basis – as I have mentioned before, the social aspect of going to work has always been important to me.

I explored a couple of possibilities and the one that was most promising was a shared office space with a group of other freelancers doing similar work. It was a great office in the centre of Copenhagen, great people that I could imagine working and having fun with and I was very close to agreeing to move in with them. But when it came down to it I realised that 1. It was going to be a fairly hefty financial commitment, 2. If I made that commitment I would feel obliged to go there all day every day “to get my money’s worth”.

One of the main reasons for wanting to become self-employed was to win more flexibility with regards to how much and when I would work. I’d like to be able to take time off during school holidays or in the run up to a marathon, for example, but also to be able to do other things during the day and work during evening (or not at all) if that suited me better. I realised that by signing up for that office I would have to work to pay the rent, and I was going to end up working regular office hours to justify it. So I said no.

Instead we have reorganised at home and have created a really comfortable office in a room that doubles as our guest room.

And interestingly, so far I haven’t missed the social aspect of going to the office. Facebook and Skype keep me in contact with my network. And with regular travel, it’s not like I’m here all the time anyway. If, I do start to feel the need to get out I may join more informal office “club” like La Officina. But then again…. maybe I’ll just invest more time and energy in my non-work social life!

2 Responses to “A Room of One’s Own”

  1. lmarieallen Says:

    Hi Kirsten. I’m curious as to what kind of consultant you are. It’s wonderful that your work takes you all over the world!

  2. Kirsten Says:

    I work with public procurement reform and capacity development – yeah, I know it’s a bit of a “niche” area;-)

Leave a Reply

