Keep on Running…..

June 14, 2010

I ran a half-marathon on Saturday – Broløbet over the bridge from Copenhagen to Sweden to mark the 10th anniversary of the bridge’s opening.

I’d signed up for this race months ago – I’m always on the lookout for fun and “different” running experiences! I typically have one or two main running goals each season, but sign up for other races regularly just for fun or as training. This one was meant as a fun run, my main goals for this season being Etap Bornholm in July (a marathon spread over 5 days) and Berlin Marathon in September.

But the experiences of the last few weeks have seriously interfered with my training both physically and mentally and I was really in doubt about whether I could be bothered doing the race on Saturday. I should add here that even when I race for fun I can’t help but being a little bit competitive (with myself!) and I knew that there was no way I would be able run a good race. But in the end I decided to go for it and to forget about getting a “good” result and just to take my time and enjoy the experience, which I really, really did. And afterwards I feel so much better about myself! Those horrible aliens may have invaded and occupied my right armpit (and wherever else they may be lurking) but my body is still a lean, mean running machine and I’m going to show them…..

Have I mentioned that I LOVE running!

When I first realised that I might have cancer I started googling to try to find out if I would be able to keep on running if I did (I realise that for non runners this probably seems a bit weird). There is a lot of information out there about how good exercise is for cancer patients but most of it is about people who start exercising after they are diagnosed and I really struggled to find anything about people who are already in good shape. Then last week I stumbled across a series of articles written by a woman who was a serious runner and who also got Hodgkins where she describes her experiences running through her chemotherapy. They are truly inspirational. (I have added links to these articles in the right column in case anyone is interested).

I’ve decided I’m going to keep on running no matter what! I realise that it is going to be tough and I’m not going to be able to train like I usually do, but Saturday’s half-marathon taught me that I can enjoy running just for the joy of the moment, without having to have a goal other than that.

8 Responses to “Keep on Running…..”

  1. neil Says:

    Fab! See you out there!

  2. Colin @365er Says:

    Hi Kirsten
    First off, congratulations on your really positive attitude and response to this dreadful diagnosis … I hear myself in you, and hopefully, you won’t find that too disturbing!

    I am a runner dealing with Hodgkin’s too and while it’s hard to keep it going regularly, there IS scope to keep running and I recommend it … every step I took was, for me, evidence that I was kicking my cancer and that is a really powerful message to carry inside.my oncology nurse just told me to listen to my body and go with that, so I did!

    My chemo treatment was on a 2-weekly cycle, and I found that for a couple of days after the treatment, I still had energy, so could run, but then weariness hits me around day 3 and I’d be knocked out for about a week. But then the energy would return and I could get out running again. So my message is: it is doable but proceed sensibly … and enjoy!

    Oh, and to add an upbeat message – I had my final chemo treatment today, and my consultant is really happy with my progress; he can’t find any lumps! I’ll have to have a scan and some radiotherapy to mop up any remaining nasties, but essentially the message is all very positive. I wrote some stuff about it on my blog – http://365ersnewchallenge.blogspot.com/ – and I know you’re following me on twitter now @365er, so I hope we can stay in touch.

    Wishing you all the very best with your new challenge and I know with your attitude, your cancer is in for a right good kickin’!

    Keep on running
    Colin @365er

    • Kirsten Says:

      Wow Colin, your comment blew me away when I read it this morning – THANKS! I have everything crossed for you and will be following you on twitter!, All the best, Kirsten


  3. […] 15, 2010 I thought it was about time for an update on the running. The last time I wrote about it was BC (before-chemo) and therefore rather aspirational! Then I said that I was going to keep on […]


  4. […] and not overdoing it. Although this Sunday I’m planning to run my first half-marathon since Broløbet in June 2010 – just days before I started chemo. Wow, I re-reading that post just made me […]


  5. […] – on Sunday I completed my first half-marathon since I ran Broløbet last year on 11 June 2010 in a totally shell-shocked post-diagnosis but pre-treatment state. This […]

Leave a Reply

