Moral support

July 30, 2010

My blood tests on Friday were OK, so my third chemo treatment went ahead on Monday. This time it went according to plan, my catheter behaved impeccably and I was in and out again within a few hours – thank goodness!

While I was there, an older man fell over and banged his head. He was generally very confused and upset by everything and I commented to the nurse that I thought this chemo business was pretty nasty even for someone like me who was in good shape and that I just can’t imagine what it must be like for someone who is frail to start with.

Interestingly, she commented that they find that THE most important factor for how well people cope is not how frail or not they are but rather how strong their support network is! Then last night I saw on the news that research is now showing that having strong social networks is just as important for fighting the risk of cancer as things like diet, exercise, not smoking etc.

This makes sense to me – I honestly don’t know how I would get through this without all the support I get. Number 1 is my husband who unfailingly helps me every day with the practical things as well as moral support, and also my family and close friends who are being fantastic. But there are also so many other friends, colleagues and acquaintances who send me messages, post comments on facebook,  pop up for a chat on skype and keep me in touch with what is going on, make me laugh or let me know that they are following my blog and sending me positive thoughts.

It all helps more than I can say!

One Response to “Moral support”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    Hi Kirsten

    I had planned to drop you a line to wish you well in your adventures as a freelancer and to pass on some tips about working from home based on a decade of experience……

    Haven’t got your email address, but just wanted to know that I am sorry to hear that things took such an unexpected turn. It looks as though you have some fantastic support and coping strategies, and I will certainly keep you in my thoughts and wish you a swift recovery.

Leave a Reply

