I’m in complete remission!

December 18, 2010

There has been a statement popping up on twitter and facebook recently which has run particularly true for me: “Most people have 1000 wishes for Christmas; a cancer patient only has one, to get better”. A few weeks ago my husband asked me to produce a Christmas wish list. Normally I have no problem trundling out a list of things I would really like. This year you would think it would be easier than usual since the financial constraints brought on by not having been able to work for 6 months have meant that I haven’t been unable to indulge my every whim as I usually do (well that might be a slight exaggeration!). However my mind was blank except for “I just want to be well” pounding through my head.

Well yesterday I got my biggest Christmas wish – it really doesn’t get much better than this! The CT scan I had a few weeks ago (before I started radiotherapy) showed that I was completely clear of cancer. This is going to be the best Christmas ever!

9 Responses to “I’m in complete remission!”

  1. Margaret Says:

    Congratulations Kirsten – have a fantastic Christmas. Let me know if you get home to Scotland, this news deserves a big celebration! Say hi to Eric and the kids.

    • Kirsten Says:

      Thanks Margaret! I’m not sure when I will next be back “home” but will let you know in case you are around! Hope you and Colin have a great Christmas too!

  2. Colin @365er Says:

    Woooooo Hooooo!!!! That is FANTASTIC news Kirsten. What a boost for Christmas, congratulations and have a wonderful celebration to mark it.

    • Kirsten Says:

      Thanks Colin! And thanks for all the moral support and inspiration over the last months! I bet you’ll be having a mega-Christmas celebration too -enjoy! (And hope that ITB problem clears up soon….)

  3. Rebecca Says:

    Wow! What brilliant news! Have a wonderful Christmas!

  4. Sebastian Says:

    Fantastic news! Great to hear that!

  5. Lynn Says:

    Congratulations. Wonderful news. I, too finally got a clear scan. I had a PET on Nov 24, and got the results Dec 14. Isn’t the weight of your shoulders incredible, even though we were staying positive and upbeat. Enjoy the season, you more than deserve it.

    PEI, Canada

  6. Robert Hyland Says:

    Kirsten,

    Truly great news indeed!

    Enjoy whats left of the festive season. We will catch up soon eneough!

    R

    ps liked the hairstyle – we could almost be like twins! Sadly mines does not look as if it going to grow back anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

