Marathons are also about food and clothes!

August 16, 2011

Wow, suddenly Berlin seems to be just around the corner – less than 6 weeks to go!

The good news is that I’m starting to feel confident that I can do it – as long as no disasters strike between now and then. My achilles injury seems to be history and I’m back to a more or less normal running schedule, though I’m still being careful and not overdoing it. Although this Sunday I’m planning to run my first half-marathon since Broløbet in June 2010 – just days before I started chemo. Wow, I re-reading that post just made me cry….. I can see how naive I was writing then that I was going to keep on running no matter what – and yet I did it!

I’m also busy with other marathon preparations that don’t involve my running shoes. Today I got my new running shirt for the big day! I have been told that wearing a Denmark shirt provokes lots of support from spectators at Berlin marathon. However I have been going through moral turmoil about whether it was appropriate for me a Scot to run in a Denmark shirt – though Denmark has been my home for 22 years. I ended up consulting my husband (Danish) and one of my friends (also a Brit resident in Denmark) and both thought it was acceptable, so I’m going to go for it! It helps that it is red – my favourite colour.

The other thing that is pre-occupying me at the moment is food! A runner uses more than 30,000 steps to run a marathon which puts a huge pressure on the knees. They reckon that for each kg you lose you not only reduce the pounding on your knees, but you gain 1-3 seconds per km which is really quite a big deal. The bad news is that at the moment I weigh more than I have done for years! For many years I have maintained the same weight +/- 1 kg. I even managed to do that through my cancer treatment despite my horrible eating problems. But since I finished treatment my new laid back personality has also had an influence on my eating. I still eat just as healthily as I did before most of the time, but for example on holiday I didn’t hold myself back at all! The result is I now have the same weight as always +3kg (though it was +4kg just after my holidays!). So now I’m trying to get rid of the +3 kg before Berlin, but it’s a bit of a challenge to do that while also training hard!

On the fundraising front I have now raised 3000kr! Thanks to those of you who have contributed. If you haven’t done so yet, you can click here: http://www.betternow.org/projectskirstenejlskov. It would be wonderful if you also spread the word to your network through facebook, twitter etc.

One Response to “Marathons are also about food and clothes!”


  1. Hmm, that would explain my recent knee issues 😦

    I think it’s great that you’re going to wear a DK shirt btw.

Leave a Reply

